Uncategorized

Resolution Revolution 2017

Whelp, I’m a bit late on the bandwagon, considering that it’s already January 12th, but I’ve decided to make some New Year’s resolutions.  The only time I’ve ever made a resolution was three years ago, when I decided that from then on, I was going to read 52 books a year.  Surprisingly, I actually stuck to it.  This makes me think that posting things online makes me feel more accountable.  Hopefully, I can stick to the goals I set for myself here.

1. Read 52 F&SF novels this year and blog about them.

“But Orin,” you say, “You already know you can read 52 books a year.  How is this a challenge?”

I said I was going to read 52 F&SF novels, not 52 books total.  I’m still going to read nonfiction books and short story anthologies, so I will be reading much more than I’m used to.

2. Write 365,000 words of fiction this year.

This is the resolution which I am most likely to fail.  I work ten hours a day, and my job requires me to do work at home when I’m off the clock.  A lot of the time, I’m too zonked out to write.  On top of that, I write very slowly and am easily distracted.  It doesn’t help that I’ve only written 2,000 words this year, so I’m already 10,000 words behind schedule.

3. Finish something.

I tend to start a story and then stop halfway through to start something else.  I have what feels like a million half-finished stories.  I want to finally finish one of them.

4. Go to the gym every weekday.

This has nothing to do with writing.  I just need to exercise more.

Leave a Reply

